Charles R. Twardy

Follow @ctwardy on Micro.blog.

Re-updated CDC numbers, and self-critique.

Re: earlier posts:

The apparent discrepancy November/December discrepancy between higher CovidTracking counts (COVID19 deaths) and lower CDC official excess death counts has essentially vanished.

The actual excess deaths amount to +6,500 per week for December. There was just a lot of lag.

I give myself some credit for considering that I might be in a bubble, that my faith in the two reporting systems might be too strong misplaced, and looking for alternate explanations.

But in the end I was too timid in their defense: I thought only about 5K of the 7K discrepancy would be lag, and that we would see a larger role of harvesting, for example.

Screenshot of CDC Excess deaths plot, as of 23-May-2021 showing 1-Jan-2020 to now, highlighting week ending 26-Dec-2020 with 84,715 predicted final death count.